Blog, Field Season, Fun, Packing

It’s Begun! So now a song…

Preparing to go in the field for research can be exciting and terrifying. I am currently en route to the North Slope of Alaska for my second field season in the Dunton Lab. This is my first season to deploy instruments and conduct ecosystem surveys that will actually contribute to my thesis research. I have composed a song to convey my feelings about all the prep work that lead up to my departure.

So now without further ado, to be sung to the tune of John Denver’s “Leavin’ on a Jet Plane”, the field season departure song:

 

20140616_145020

All the coolers are packed

They’re ready to go

They’re sittin’ by the wetlab door

I can’t ever stop these worries though I’ve tried

‘Bout missed connections and lost bags

Broken loggers and drysuit snags

Stormy weather

and lost dive days

 

Oh I’ve increased my N again

Redone my methods again

Have to get it down before I go

‘Cause I’m leaving for the season

To the field for science reasons

Where did my summer go?

20140717_141404
Joe is so glad to be done gluing

 

So much drilling that I’ve had to do

PVC Joe had to glue

Cutting wire, and painting things

Need one dive slate, so I’ll pack two

Need strong bug spray, I’ll pack that too

So many cable ties and datasheets to bring

 

Oh I’ve increased my N again

Rewritten my methods again

Have to get it down before I go

‘Cause I’m leaving for the season

To the field for science reasons

Where did my summer go?

 

Texas, it is time to leave you20140716_223437

Nothing left

I can re-do

It’s too late now

I am on my way

Dream about the days to come

When my field work is getting done

Collecting data all through the day

 

Oh I’ve increased my N again

Rewritten my methods again

Have to get it down before I go

‘Cause I’m leaving for the season

To the field for science reasons

20140719_170628
Beautiful view of Seattle en route to Alaska

Where did my summer go?

 

‘Cause I’m leaving for the season

To the field for science reasons

Where did my summer go?

 

***shout-outs to John Denver (please don’t be offended) and Weird Al (who kept parodies in the back of my mind this week)
****Promise I will post what I’m doing soon!
2 thoughts on “It’s Begun! So now a song…”

Leave a Reply

